Travel with confidence

Even when I was a child, travelling was always a big part of my life. I lived 3 hours or so away from any other family members, meaning that every weekend I had to face the perilous journey down the motorway. Combine this with violent travel sickness and you have the journey from hell. I grew up with travel sickness and it has always been a reason for hesitation at the prospect of any long journey.

So how did I deal with it? And how have I overcome that fear? I’m going to share some of the best ways that I find help me when it comes to dealing with my travel sickness.

1. Be prepared. Always be prepared for the eventuality that you may not successfully make it through the journey without feeling as if you’re about to spew up your entire lunch. Always carry a travel sickness bag in your pocket and always have a bottle of water to hand. This way if the worst does occur, you’re ready to handle it. I find having a sickness bag and a bottle of water also calms me down, makes me feel secure and ultimately stops those tummy nerves. Henceforth reducing the amount of sickness I feel.

2. Travel sickness tablets do work. You may be thinking ‘but it’s all in your head, there’s no real medicine behind travel sickness remedies.’ But if it’s in my head or not, if it works, it works. I use Sturgeon travel sickness tablets before I head out on any lengthy journey, I also use Seabands, which apply pressure to the veins in your wrist and somehow (don’t ask me how) prevents you from feeling nauseous. Both of these things have made a remarkable improvement to my journeys and they are definitely my go to remedies.

3. Eat before travelling. For a long while I was adamant that eating food before travelling was a recipe for disaster. However if you do not eat, half way through your journey you’ll start to get hungry, which can easily be mistaken for feeling sick. Especially when you’re so focused on not feeling that way. So eat something simple, toast or a sandwich. Something that will line your stomach and keep you going throughout the whole day.

4. Sleep. One of the very best ways to avoid travel sickness is sleep. Try to fall asleep before the journey begins, not only will this pass the time much more quickly, but you can’t vomit when you’re unconscious. (Well you can, but let’s avoid doing that.) Avoid reading or playing on handhold devices, as these bounce around as the vehicle moves and, in my opinion, multiplies the effects of travel sickness.

So these are my live by rules that have helped me get deal with travel sickness over the years. Unfortunately travel/motion sickness for me is something that I don’t think I’m going to grow out of anytime soon, but am I going to let it stop me travelling? Heck no.

Hope this has helped and if you need any further advice or support on this topic, feel free to send me a message or get in contact with your local doctor.

Love from char xoxo

2 thoughts on “Travel with confidence

Leave a Reply

